Main Menu

SINU and APTC sign new automotive centre of excellence

Official group photo after signing of the landmark Collaboration Agreement with the Australia-Pacific Technical College to setup new Automotive Centre of Excellence Hon Dr. Culwick Togamana, Chair/SINU Council, Dr. Jack Maebuta Deputy Chair/SINUCouncil, Mr. Barry Peddle (S4EG/DFAT), Ms Pamela Morgan, Country Director/APTC, Prof. Basil Shelton Marasinghe Acting VC, Mr. Solomon
Pita/Dean/STMS and Ms Mellisa Stutsel, Counsellor/Australian HC

THE Solomon Islands National University (SINU) yesterday signed a landmark collaboration agreement with the Australia-Pacific Technical College to set up a new Automotive Centre of Excellence.

The programme called Solomon Islands Skills for Economic Growth (S4EG) Programme for development of an Automotive Centre of Excellence will be located within the School of Technology and Maritime Studies (STMS) at Kukum Campus.

It is expected to build capacity and train young people passionate in Light and Heavy vehicles.

With the Centre of Excellence’s agreement, the SINU Acting Vice Chancellor Professor Basil Shelton Marasinghe said it covers appointment for a full-time automotive engineering skills adviser from Australia.

Prof Basil said the Advisor’s role is mainly to build capability of SINU’s STMS Automotive trainers for them to deliver the new National Automotive Apprenticeship Courses in Light and Heavy Vehicles which will commence in July this year.

APTC Country Director, Ms Pamela Morgan said the signing of agreement is the fruition of a long time of relationship building between SINU and APTC.

She said APTC are so pleased to be a partner in the programme and are committed to building skills and knowledge of people in Pacific island countries including Solomon Islands.

Australia has invested $2.4million in the SINU’s Automotive Centre of Excellence.

The signing ceremony convened Hon Dr Culwick Togamana, Chair and SINU Council, Dr Jack Maebuta Deputy Chair and SINU Council, SINU Acting Vice Chancellor Prof Basil Shelton Marasinghe, S4EG and DFAT Mr Barry Peddle, Dean of STMS Mr Solomon Pita and APTC Country Director Ms Pamela Morgan.

Members of DFAT also accompanied the Australia High Commission and Counsellor Ms Mellisa Stutsel during the signing yesterday.

« (Previous News)
(Next News) »